What Do Land Commissioners Do?

The Minnesota Association of County Land Commissioners is dedicated to the protection, stewardship, and multiple use of county resources and to the promotion of education and understanding of the proper use of the land.

Management of Tax Forfeit Lands and Properties across Fifteen Northeastern Counties Including:


        Becker     Beltrami

          Carlton     Cass     Clearwater

         Itasca    Koochiching     Lake

        Lake of the Woods    Pine

     St. Louis

Tax Forfeit Lands are those held in Trust by the State of Minnesota for failure to pay property taxes; though not directly owned by the County the lands are Classified, Managed, and Controlled by the County Land Department where the lands are located.

Wild Path
Stacks of Paper
Dry Woods
Victorian Detail
Man walking in Nature

How can changes in Legislation affect County Land Commissioners?

February 23, 2018

New PowerPoint Document Available

September 28, 2017

What is the difference between summer wood and winter wood harvesting?

September 27, 2017

Please reload


Minnesota Association of County Land Commissioners

Phone- 218-283-1127

Fax- 218-283-1129

Nathan Heibel
Land & Forestry Office
715 4th Street
International Falls, MN 56649

©2017 by Minnesota Association of County Land Commissioners. Proudly created with Wix.com